TMD’s Tried and Tested Makeup Removers

If there’s one thing I don’t like about makeup, it’s the tedious process of removing it. I personally do not put mascara on when I attend parties because I know that I will get home late and be too lazy to remove it. But I cannot skip waterproof mascara and eyeliner application all the time especially when the look I’m trying to achieve calls for heavy eye makeup.

I know I share this dilemma with a lot of our readers. It has only been less than a week since I announced our makeover promo and already we have received 5 questions about makeup removers!

We all know that we should never sleep with makeup on because it can clog our pores and give us acne problems later on. So now I’ll be sharing with you a list of makeup removers that I’ve tried and tested to be really effective. They actually make the removal process faster and more bearable.

1) MAKE UP FOR EVER SENS’ EYES

I’ve discovered this eye makeup remover 3 years ago. Beauty editor Marie Calica gifted me with the aqua eyes set that included this product when I did makeup for Marie Claire magazine. What I like about this product is that it is in gel/lotion form. It can be directly applied to the eye area without it dripping everywhere. This means it’s good for professional use because I can correct eyeliner mistakes spot on without affecting the foundation base. It may be quite pricey at $25 per 3.38oz but I really only need a minute amount on each eye every time I use it so 1 bottle definitely goes a long way. This product is oil-free and it doesn’t sting my eyes. I am told that even Cirque du Soleil performers use this in removing their high-definition makeup.  Only bad thing I noticed about this product is that it tends to dry up the skin fast maybe because of its high-surfactant content. I suggest moisturizing the eyes the next morning with an eye cream.

Alternative for this product: Neutrogena oil-free eye makeup remover

2) GARNIER LIGHT FACIAL CLEANSER

This product was introduced to me when the magazine I was handling had a tie-up with Garnier for an event 2 years ago. I tried on the sample product given to me right after our event. I used it as one would use a regular facial cleanser. From my experience, most facial cleansers would wash-off foundation, lipstick and eyeshadow but would leave ugly black eyeliner and mascara marks all around the eyes. So I was really surprised when Garnier Light was able to remove all of the products on my face without hurting my eyes! I love that it also eliminates the need for a separate makeup remover.

Alternative: Philosophy Purity makeup cleanser (much more expensive but works just the same.)

3) HUMAN NATURE MAKEUP REMOVER

I’ve discovered just a year ago that I really have sensitive skin so my dermatologist advised me to replace all of my bath products with organic ones. Now, I buy my soaps from Lush and Belo, shampoo and conditioner from VMV Hypoallergenics and my massage oils and makeup removers from Human Nature. One bottle of Human Nature’s makeup remover costs less than a hundred pesos. It’s really such a steal considering it’s organic. I find this product potent enough to wash-away the products I apply on my face.

Alternative: Shu Uemura cleansing oil (If you have the cash to spend, you might wanna buy this instead. It’s an oil-to-milk cleanser that leaves the skin soft and void of red patches caused by allergic reactions.)

4) MAC WIPES

I use MAC wipes for trials and photoshoots that require trying on different makeup looks. I used to order these wipes online but they are now available in MAC Rockwell, Makati and Shangrila. I love that with this product, my models and clients can just tissue-off the makeup by themselves. I used to give them cotton balls drenched in expensive cleanser oils that take double the amount of time and effort.

Alternatives: Dove/L’oreal/Neutrogena towelettes (Beware of fakes sold in Divisoria/168 and other tiangges. If you can’t find one in your local supermarket, check-out legit PX stores in malls.)

5) POND’S COLD CREAM

My mom has been using this for ages! She would use this cream to moisturize her face and remove her everyday makeup. I guess this is really a cool classic because my mom’s skin has remained flawless up to this day! That’s saying a lot because she’s a politician and every election period, she would go house-to-house to campaign, exposing her skin to the sun’s harsh rays. An alternative to this product is another classic:

[VASELINE/ PETROLEUM JELLY]

The Makeup Den Tip: If you have lush and healthy eyebrows, use petroleum jelly instead of powder to highlight its shape. The gloss will freshen up your face and it will help you look younger.

May you never ever get too tired to remove your makeup after a night of fun and fab partying,

d.

About denswithme

Dens Congco is the Chief Makeup Artist of The Makeup Den (TMD). TMD specializes in hair and makeup services for events such as weddings, deb
This entry was posted in The Makeup Den Product Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TMD’s Tried and Tested Makeup Removers

  1. Lash Royalty says:

    Hi Dens,

    You have to try Shu Uemura Cleansing Beauty oil. It removes all of your makeup, including mascara and heavy waterproof eyeliners. It’s a very popular item we featured on our beauty blog as well. For quick on the go makeup wipes, Shiseido Pureness Cleansing Sheet.

    http://lashroyalty.com/blog/skincare-product-review-shu-uemura-beauty-oil/
    http://lashroyalty.com/blog/on-the-go-cleansing-sheets-by-shiseido/

    Xxooxxo

    • denswithme says:

      yup! i recommended the shu uemura cleansing beauty oil as an alternative coz it’s kinda pricey.

      i love the lashes that you sell. will tell my friends about your site! more power! 🙂

  2. Tracy says:

    I have this HUGE bottle of Smashbox cleansing oil which I bought for only 500 pesos. I love shopping/swapping online, and I’m happy for getting a great deal! It works well for me – I have only tried Fasio and Elianto cleansing oils as the price of the infamous Shu Uemura oils are prohibitive.

    This is how it looks like – http://www.lipglossiping.com/2009/05/18/smashbox-cleansing-oil-review/. It wasn’t given a very good review considering the blogger has this collection of almost all the cleansing oils in the world and has tried them all. But for the performance, the huge amount, and the awesome prince, I’m a happy camper!

Leave a comment